A proven team with a Deep Understanding of it's Assets and the Experience Required to Develop Them

John Zahary

Alberta, Canada
Managing Director
Mr. Zahary is an experienced oil and gas executive having played a leadership role with a number of companies with heavy oil and oilsands assets including PanCanadian Petroleum, Petrovera Resources, Viking Energy, Harvest Energy, Osum Oilsands and Sunshine Oilsands. John's has experience in technical engineering and operations roles as well as in financial roles.

John holds a B.Sc. in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Calgary and a M.Phil in Management Studies from the University of Oxford.

John is active in corporate and volunteer activities.

Board Member Since April 2018

Ed Chwyl

British Columbia, Canada
Mr. Chwyl is a retired businessman with over 45 years of experience in the oil and gas industry in North America, most notably as President and Chief Executive Officer of Tarragon Oil and Gas Limited from 1989 to 1998.

Prior thereto, he held various technical and executive positions within the oil and gas industry in Canada and the United States. Mr. Chwyl served as lead Independent Director of Baytex Energy Ltd. (2009 2019) and Chairman (2003-2008).

Mr. Chwyl holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Chemical Engineering and a Master of Science degree in Petroleum Engineering from the University of Alberta.

Board Member Since March 2013

Evan Hazell

Alberta, Canada
Mr. Hazell has been involved in the global oil and gas industry for over 35 years, initially as a petroleum engineer and sequentially as an investment banker.

At present, he primarily serves as a Director of a number of for profit and community organizations including Pacific Opera Victoria, CMLC, Gran Tierra Energy and Black Swan Energy.

Mr. Hazell holds a bachelor of Science degree in Chemical Engineering from Queen's University and a Masters of Engineering from the University of Calgary. Mr Hazell also holds an MBA from the University of Michigan, and is a registered Professional Engineer in Alberta.

Board Member Since December 2014

Nathan Kunec

Alberta, Canada

Board Member Since November 2019

Rick Ramsay

Alberta, Canada
Mr. Ramsay is a retired businessman with over 34 years of extensive oil and gas experience. Most recently, Mr. Ramsay held the position of Chief Operating Officer at Baytex Energy Ltd., a role he held from May , 2014 to April, 2019. After joining Baytex in January 2010, he held the following positions: Vice President, Heavy Oil from January 2010 to January 2012 and Vice President Alberta/ British Columbia from January 2012 to May 2014.

Prior to joining Baytex, Mr. Ramsay was the Chief Operating Officer of TAQA North Ltd. He previously held a variety of technical and management positions with Northrock Resources Ltd., Fletcher Challenge Energy Canada Inc., Amoco Canada Petroleum Ltd. and Dome Petroleum Ltd.

Mr. Ramsay has a Bachelor of Science degree with Distinction in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Saskatchewan and is a practicing member of the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta.

Board Member Since November 2015

Dave Pearce

Alberta, Canada
Mr. Pearce is a Deputy Managing Partner with Azimuth Capital Management. Most recently, Dave was President and CEO of Northrock Resources Ltd.

Prior to Northrock, Mr. Pearce was Vice President, Corporate Development at Fletcher Challenge Canada. Mr. Pearce holds a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Honours). He has served as a Governor of the Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers (CAPP) and chaired the Northern Canada Executive Policy Group.

Mr. Pearce represents Azimuth as a Director on the boards of Altex Energy Ltd., Black Swan Energy Ltd., TimberRock Energy Corp, Entrada Resource and Kaden Energy. Mr. Pearce also serves as an Independent Director on the board of Baytex Energy Corp.

Board Member Since November 2015